Eta Kappa Nu

Eta Kappa Nu (HKN) is an honor society for electrical and computer engineers. There are nearly 200 chapters of Eta Kappa Nu. While one goal of the society is the stimulation and reward of scholarship, Eta Kappa Nu has a far broader purpose than merely to award a badge of distinction to scholars. Eta Kappa Nu and its members are dedicated to helping fellow members and non-members alike, improve the standards of the profession, the courses of instruction, and the institution in general, where its chapters are established. Its members are primarily comprised of outstanding Juniors and Seniors in ECE.

HKN inducts the top quarter of juniors, top third of seniors, graduate students, faculty, and distinguished professionals. Inductees must be pursuing or working in the fields of electrical and/or computer engineering. Computer Science undergraduates are not eligible unless the department is combined (i.e. EECS department.) Sophomores are not currently eligible.


  • Started in 1904 at University of Illinois Urbana/Champaign by Maurice L. Carr
  • Over 200 chapters all over the U.S
  • Started in 1910 at UW Madison as Theta chapter
  • Includes many famous engineers
    • Gordon Moore, Jerry Sanders, Amar Bose, Harry Nyquist, John Bardeen (1928)

To find more about HKN, please visit the HKN national website